How many U.S. presidents have died in office?

Eight presidents have died in office (four by assassination):
* William Henry Harrison, 9th president (1841), died April 4, 1841 from pneumonia.
* Zachary Taylor, 12th president (1849-50), died July 9, 1850 from food poisoning or cholera.
* Abraham Lincoln, 16th president (1861-65), died April 15, 1865 by assassination.
* James Abram Garfield, 20th president (1881), died September 19, 1881 from blood poisoning resulting from doctors probing for an assassin’s bullet with no-sterile instruments.
* William McKinley, 25th president (1897-1901), died September 14, 1901 by assassination.
* Warren G. Harding, 29th president (1921-23), died August 2, 1923 from either a heart attack or a stroke depending on the source.
* Franklin D. Roosevelt, 32nd president (1933-45), died April 12, 1945 from a cerebral hemorrhage.
* John F. Kennedy, 35th president (1961-63), died November 22, 1963 by assassination.

Which president was not a citizen of the U.S. when he died?
The one president who was not a U.S. citizen when he died was the 10th president, John Tyler. A native of Virginia, he died in that state on Jan. 18, 1862 as a citizen of the Southern Confederacy. Incidentally, Tyler also has the distinction of being the first president to be born in the United States, in 1790. All previous presidents were born before the War for Independence.

Who was the first president to have electric lights at the White House?
The first president to have electric lights in the White House was Benjamin Harrison. A Compton’s encyclopedia article about Harrison states: “Congress appropriated $35,000 to have the White House renovated, and Mrs. Harrison spent the money carefully. When the White House was wired for electricity, the Harrisons asked one of the electricians to stay on because they were afraid to turn the lights on and off. The man they selected was Ike Hoover, who remained on the White House staff for 42 years.”