G4 ALERT: ANOTHER STORM REACHES SEVERE LEVELS

published: Monday, June 22, 2015 20:33 UTC

The geomagnetic storm began as forecasted and quickly ramped up to severe (G4) levels. SWPC issued the G4 Alert at 1858 UT (2:58 pm EDT), after the storm slammed into Earth at 1839 UT (2:39 pm EDT). This is the same intensity level reached in March, 2015 during the St. Patrick’s Day storm. This is the very early stages of an event that will play out over many hours, with SWPC forecasting continuing storm level intensities into tomorrow. In Europe watchers should be looking for the aurora now and there is hope for those over the US tonight. Stay tuned here, as there is more happening to tell you about.

http://www.swpc.noaa.gov/news/g4-alert-another-storm-reaches-severe-levels